I had a blast this past weekend!! Even in the rain! My husband & I went camping with our bestfriends. We packed everything up & headed to Lake Summervile. It was absolutely breath taking! (of what we could see!)
Friday it rained for the first part of the day, but then it cleared up about 4:30pm so Anthony (my husband) & Joe got the fire box & the grill going. While we waited for the grill to get hot we played washers. We had T-bones, grilled veggies & some awesome green beans that I was eating like it was popcorn (it was so GOOD!!) Then we played Farkel (spelling) (it's a dice game) & Phase 10 (card game).
We woke up pretty early to rain. So we couldn't fix breakfast like the guys wanted to, so we just went to a little Cafe' (The Windmill) It was GREAT!! Then we drove around looking at the sights & then we got the PHONE CALL! It was pouring down in Houston. Our friends house was getting flooded! They had left their teenagers home (16 & 13) alone. Megan poor thing she's 16 & she was hysterical she didn't know what to do. But, then everything just kinda calmed down & they were OK. We were gonna cut our trip short, but then we were told that they had closed down all the Freeways so we would have been stranded anyway.
So, that evening it was mine & my husbands turn to cook dinner. We had gotten some stuffed chickens. They were DELICIOUS!!! One with dirty rice the other with cornbread dressing and we cooked veggies as well. Who said you had to have hotdogs & hamburgers while camping!
It finally cleared up & we went on for a walk. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! That night we were able to see stars in the sky what a breat takin adventure I had this past weekend!!
I just thank God for all HE is done & is doing in my life!!
Tuesday, April 21, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

1 comment:
Sounds like fun (minus the rain)! I'm cool with camping as long as I have a potty!
Check out my blog to see some pics of what you missed while you were roughin' it!
Our suburb got 9.25" in one day... CRAZY flooding (worse than Ike)!
I'm glad you posted! :)
Post a Comment